Biggest Super Moon In 68 Years.

mystic16

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.


Email This Story






Print page

On November 14, the moon will be the biggest it has been in 68 years. It will be the biggest so far for the 21st century. This is called “the Super Moon”.

What is a Super Moon? A Super Moon occurs when the moon becomes full on the same day when the moon is closest to the earth.

The term is borrowed from the pseudoscience of astrology but has been adopted by popular culture and astronomers.

Super Moons are usually 14% bigger and 30% brighter. Ever 13 months there is usually a full moon but this November is going to be a little different.

According to NASA, this month’s supermoon “becomes full within about two hours of perigee—arguably making it an extra-super moon.”

On November 14th, the moon will turn full around 1:52 pm UTC or 8:52 am ET. For people more around the eastern part of north america and Europe, the moon will be seen November 13th.

People who wake up early on the US West Coast should be able to see it at it fullest around 5:52 am PST.

People who live in Asia are the best place to see the moon when it is the largest while this occures around 9:52 pm Hong Kong, and 7:22 pm in India.

http://www.cnn.com/2016/11/02/world/supermoon-november-14-2016/index.html

This is going be so exciting. Not too many actually live to see this moon. This also might be the only time when you will be able to see it. With calculations, the Super Moon is 356,577 kilometers away from earth. A regular moon is about 384,400 kilometers away from earth. That is a huge difference. So for all those wanting to take pictures and see the moon at it fullest, make sure you are up and ready November 14th early morning before sunrise.

 

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Navigate Right
Navigate Left
  • Biggest Super Moon In 68 Years.

    1-Slider

    Human Rights and Global Citzenship in our Modern World

  • Biggest Super Moon In 68 Years.

    1-Slider

    Stand Up to Human Trafficking

  • Biggest Super Moon In 68 Years.

    1-Slider

    Teaching and Learning Literacy

  • Biggest Super Moon In 68 Years.

    1-Slider

    What is Homeboy industries?

  • Biggest Super Moon In 68 Years.

    1-Slider

    Stand United Together Instead of Fearfully Divided

  • Biggest Super Moon In 68 Years.

    1-Slider

    The Rise of Racial Hate Crimes

  • Biggest Super Moon In 68 Years.

    1-Slider

    Induction Day!

  • Biggest Super Moon In 68 Years.

    1-Slider

    2 Teens and a Dad; Across the Border, a Mom

  • Biggest Super Moon In 68 Years.

    1-Slider

    Women’s Day

  • 1-Slider

    Diversity Training

Biggest Super Moon In 68 Years.