The Travel Ban against Muslim people; Does It Violate the 1st Amendment.

Print page

The first amendment to the U.S. Constitution says this:

“Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.”

If all American citizens have a freedom of association, speech and religion does a Presidential order banning travel of people from certain targeted countries violate American citizen rights if the order was never approved by Congress?

This is something nonhuman about President Trump on his sickness in “making America great again”. He is destroying the country in many ways starting with his war on immigration.

Since December 4, 2017 there have been numerous protests and legal challenges. A week later a federal judge in Seattle suspended it nationwide, allowing banned visitors to travel to the US pending an appeal by the administration. It appear that last two weeks before a Federal Judge would remove this executive order.

Mr Trump and his supporters say the controversial executive order makes good on election promises to “make America great again”.

But what is the order, “Muslim ban” by those against it, and who exactly does it affect?

  • It brings in a suspension of the US Refugee Admissions Programme for 120 days
  • There is also an indefinite ban on Syrian refugees
  • And anyone arriving from seven Muslim-majority countries – Iraq, Syria, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, and Yemen – faces a 90-day visa suspension. Some visa categories, such as diplomats and the UN, are not included in the suspension

  • The order also introduces a cap of 50,000 refugees to be accepted in 2017, against a limit of 110,000 set by former President Barack Obama
  • Priority will be given to religious minorities facing persecution in their countries. In an interview Mr Trump singled out Christians in Syria

All travellers who have nationality of Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen are not permitted to enter the US for 90 days, or be issued an immigrant or non-immigrant visa.

People who have dual nationality with a non restricted country are not affected, so long as they travel on the passport from the other country.